Pages

Wednesday, 24 August 2011

We've moved

Been having some issues reported with blogger so I am now blogging over at wordpad....

You can find me here Forty Fatty

First Day Off

Well, first day off of 5 and so far kept on plan, food is good, exercise is good.

Did a little 1k run to the Post Office and back this morning and just now I did a pretty good walk...  here's the route.


6.5

6.5

Just a pretty basic out and back, but I kept a pretty steady pace and if you know Glovertown at all, and I know MOST of you don't lol, there's a pretty decent hill at the end of the walk.  It's a hill I hated growing up walking back home from school every day, but I love now.  Go figure.

I have to say, I am feeling pretty good,  My feet continue to complain a bit, even on walks, but its getting less.  My core, that is to say, my body and whats in it, feels great, no breathing issues, cramps, spasms or anything like that .  Feels good.

I am looking forward to what I will be able to do 10 pounds from now, 20, 30, 40 and beyond, sky is the limit really.

Not much of a post I know, used to blogging at night and who knows, maybe I will come back and blog again a little later.  I'm pretty sure I will actually lol

Tuesday, 23 August 2011

Might as well face it

I'm addicted to speed lol

I went out this evening with every intention of walking only, however, once I got there, the rain, the wind, the cool evening, I couldn't help, I had to run...

I did about 1k sustained with not a lot of discomfort, knees were humming a little towards the end of the 1k so I pulled up and walked 2k and ran in the last half k of the trail.

I am off for a few days now, plan on doing some morning walking/running for the next 5 days, though I am going to give myself the nice reward of sleeping in tomorrow morning.  Now for me, sleeping in is staying in bed till 7 lol.  I am up around 5:30 every other day of the week.

I have to comment a little here on food.  I found a great site called Lose it! It allows you to log your food, exercise everything, and its quite detailed, you can even log SEX lol....  but I am surprised about the calories it burns, I woulda thought more! lol.  The same applies to its food library, it has EVERYTHING from raw ingredients to brand food to restaurant menus, just damn near anything and everything you can think of.  I am finding it BEYOND useful, its interesting, informative and somewhat of an eye opener.  Check it out if you need a little help in your journey.

Well, off for the night, a little WoW and bed!

Oh, people have asked for pictures, I'll see what I can do...

Monday, 22 August 2011

The Whoa Factor.....

Well, for every wow there gotta be a whoa I guess lol...

As good as my run the other night was, tonight was equally as bad.

I shouldn't say that, the first 1k was awesome, it was at about the 1.7 mark that it all started to come apart at the seams.  The breathing was going fine, but here's a word to the wise, never eat egg salad prior to running, NEVER.  I was belching sulfer from 1.7k on, it was pretty horrible.  On top of that, I started to get a cramp in my left leg, upper thigh that was annoying at first but proceeded to intolerable.  As soon as I would think it had passed and tried to jog again it returned.  After 2.5 I just gave up and decided to walk the rest.  Then, lo and behold, at the 3k mark my old friend numb foot decided to chime in as well.

All in all, pretty disgusting.....  BUT glass half full point of view, I got out there and did almost 4k again lol...

On the other bright note, no MAJOR weight loss this week, but the pound and a bit I did lose was enough to put me over the 25 pound gone mark....   that feels pretty damn awesome!

So, no need for a physical recap this evening, the post above sums it up pretty well.

Oh well, can't all be sunshine and roses..... lol


Sunday, 21 August 2011

Sunday Sunday Sunday

and on the 7th day he rested.....

Yeah right lol....

Was up this morning and into work for a quick visit, supposed to be getting company from Head Office tomorrow as well as having the Manager back from a 10 day vacay.  Had to make sure my boys in the yard had the place tip top, glad to report they had it well in hand.  So I hung around for a couple of hours and that's about it.

Pretty lazy day though beyond that,,,,

Went for a 4k walk this evening, no running, just walking. I needed to give my 40 year old load bearing legs a rest after the runs and the downhill 2k and the night of dancing last night lol.  Great walk all the same, kept a quick pace.  The only complaint was my shorts, I had to keep hiking them up.  That's a good complaint though so I'll take it.

Not sure how tomorrows weigh in is going to be.  As I mentioned, I was at a wedding last night and while I stayed away from the booze, I did eat what was offered, that means salad with a lot of dressing, stuffed chicken breast with gravy, spuds and vegs and a nice chunk of cheese cake.  It was really awesome food really, very tasty!

Still very very confident that I will be at 180 for the Tely10 next year.  I basically have a year to lose 80ish pounds and train myself up for a 10 mile road race.  Done like dinner.

Found another fella doing what I am doing....  check him out.... 350 and falling

Physical recap - Nothing to report on the walk.  No shin splints, no pain in my feet, no numbness at all.  No discomfort breathing, no gasping.  Shorts falling off. Sweat was more from heat then exertion.  Found myself fighting the temptation to run, feel I need the rest to improve duration of runs.

Saturday, 20 August 2011

Just a little check in

Off to a cousins wedding for the day but thought I would just do a little check in prior to the road trip.

last night was awesome.  I did a little walk/jog.  Basically I walked about 2k to the highway, a slow but steady uphill grade.  I kept a brisk pace and was pretty winded by the time I reached the overpass.  Then, on the down hill I jogged the whole way.  Now let me tell you, downhill jogs present a whole different set of forces and challenges.  Greater impact on the feet and legs as gravity exerts itself balance off the easier cardio aspect.  I was sweating A LOT by the time I got home but completed the whole distance with no walk breaks.

The price however was paid in the A.M..

I got up this morning for a walk around my usual trail.  My intention was to do a little interval training, run and then walk for one minute bursts.  Once I got out of the car however I quickly realized I may have to change plans.  I did run a full 1k to start but after that my legs, which for two nights have been my friends, just working like muscle filled pistons with few complaints, felt more like jelly filled pastry rolls.  I ended up walking the remaining 2.4k.   Well worth it though, it was a stunning morning, lots of things to see and hear.  Just a flawless sky and a nice cool breeze.  Felt wonderful to appreciate my surroundings instead of talking to my legs and begging my feet to hold on for a few more strides lol.

I am 100% confident that I will be a changed man by next summer.  So much so I am publicly putting it out there that I will, baring injuries or family emergencies, be running the annual Tely10 road race in St. John's next year.  I will admit to be scared shitless and that whole feeling of being a faker is creeping in again, but I am going to do it, faker or not.  I don't even care if I finish dead last, as long as I finish....

There, its out there, let the countdown begin.

Anyone has any good running or training tips I would love to hear them.

Oh, quick plug, found this guy,  100 Pounds , who's journey seems to parallel my own.  Might be interesting for you guys to check him out, see how another fella is trying to achieve the same goal of losing 100 pounds!